Ennis Ford Perfect Drive
Ennis Daily News

Incumbents largely favored in early vote

Nick TodaroNick@ennisdailynews.com

Unofficial early vote totals released by the Ellis County Elections Office show a Republican party vote coming down on the incumbent side in many cases.

The wide open race for the State Representative District 6 seat was split between John Wray and TJ Fabby, showing the county’s support for the Tea Party conservative was strong enough to mount a challenge against the mayor of Waxahachie. Wray pulled in 2,965 votes, or 40.72 percent, with Fabby pulling in 2,425 ballots, or 33.31 percent. Jake Ellzey had a 15.81-percent stake in the race with 1,151 votes as of the end of early voting, with Duke Burge earning 740 votes, or 10.16 percent of the early ballot.

County Judge Carol Bush led polling for the county judgeship, pulling in 52.17 percent of the vote with 3,709 ballots in her favor. Her closest opponent was Richard Rozier, who claimed 33.86 percent of the vote at 2,407 ballots, with Charles Hatfield taking 709 votes or 9.97 percent of the total, and RC Lyon earning just under 4 percent of the vote with 284 ballots.

In County Commission Precinct 1, the incumbent Bill Dodson earned 804 votes, which tallied at 42.94 percent of the total. Opponents Lane Grayson and David Garner came closest to his vote total, with 400 and 388, respectively, or 21.31 percent and 20.67 percent of the total votes cast. Darren Bravenec earned 8.36 percent with a total of 157 votes, and Tim Berneking reached a total of 157 votes or 6.71 percent of the total.

County Commission Precinct 4, an open field, saw Precinct 4 employee Kyle Butler take the majority of early votes with 50.46 percent or 985 ballots. Bill Vansyckle, former mayor of Ovilla, earned 604 early votes, or 30.94 percent of the total. Dave Vance, a freelance sports writer for the Ennis Daily News, gained 363 votes for 18.6 percent of the early turnout.

Gene Calvert, County Court at Law No. 2 judge, edged out challenger Ricky Sipes in early voting, with 3,873 ballots, or 57.19 percent, to his opponent’s 2,899 ballots, or 42.81 percent of the vote.

In statewide early voting action, Republicans largely favored candidate Greg Abbott, the state’s attorney general, in the gubernatorial race. He earned 92.12 percent of the vote with 6,630 ballots in his favor. The county also supported incumbent Sen. John Cornyn in his race for re-election, with 62.24 percent of the vote at a total of 4,385.

The race for the lieutenant governorship saw the county supporting Dan Patrick with 42.82 percent of the vote – 3,072 ballots – over incumbent David Dewhurst, who earned 25.20 percent of the vote on 1,808 ballots. Todd Staples logged 20.14 percent of the vote with 1,445 ballots. Jerry Patterson earned 850 ballots countywide, or 11.85 percent of early Ellis County votes.

The congressional seat occupied by incumbent Joe Barton showed the county’s early support largely in his camp, with Barton earning 67.40 percent of early votes cast with a total of 4,800. Challenger Frank Kuchar had 2,322 of the total, or 32.60 percent.

Democrats had fewer contested seats in the running, with favorite Wendy Davis picking up 92.42 percent of the county’s voting Democrats for a total of 902 votes in the governor’s primary, and David Alameel earning early support for the state’s senate seat with 54.94 percent, or 506 votes.


Post to Twitter



Posted by on Mar 4 2014. Filed under County News, News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Featured Links

    Search Archive

    Search by Date
    Search by Category
    Search with Google
    Log in


    Copyright: All rights reserved. Users may download and print extracts of content from this website for their own personal and non-commercial use only. Republication or redistribution of Ennis Daily News content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Ennis Daily News. Ennis Daily News and its logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of the Ellis County Newspapers, Inc.

    © Ellis County Newspapers, Inc. 2017