Ennis Ford Perfect Drive
Ennis Daily News

Lady Lions dominate all-district awards

Riding roughshod through District 17-5A for a second straight season, the girls basketball team at Ennis reaped the spoils of their dominance when the All-District awards were announced this week. Head Coach David Kilpatrick, who was named the coach of the year again, witnessed his entire starting lineup earn First Team status. Three seniors, a junior and a sophomore were chosen in a ballot of league coaches, who couldn’t vote for their own players. Nokoia “Koko” White, Zacharia Story and Kayla Anderson, all seniors, Tyquanna Ross, a junior, and freshman Paige Lemonia, were all voted to the best unit. Ross, a 5’9 hybrid guard/forward, led the team in both scoring (15.8) and rebounding (8.2) and won the Most Valuable Player in the district award. She bounced back from a season-ending knee injury a year ago to lead Ennis with 30 contests in double-figure points. She blocked 83 shots. Perhaps her most redeeming stat was her assist-to-turnover ratio of 72 to 69, the only player on the team with more passes that led to teammates making baskets than mistakes that cost the team possession of the ball. Read stories like this and more in your latest edition of The Ennis News. Be informed, subscribe today!

Post to Twitter




Posted by on Mar 4 2018. Filed under Uncategorized. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Featured Links

    Search Archive

    Search by Date
    Search by Category
    Search with Google

    Photo Gallery

    Log in


    Copyright: All rights reserved. Users may download and print extracts of content from this website for their own personal and non-commercial use only. Republication or redistribution of Ennis Daily News content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Ennis Daily News. Ennis Daily News and its logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of the Ellis County Newspapers, Inc.

    © Ellis County Newspapers, Inc. 2019